Skip to content

Wherein We Become A Mansplaining-, Feminist Bashing- And Troll-Free Zone

October 28, 2011

We are so gratified by the amazing response that Occupy Patriarchy has gotten since we started it less than a week ago–thank you!  Predictably we have also gotten a number of responses telling us that:

  1. We don’t know what we are talking about
  2. We hate men and
  3. We are being divisive

Oh yeah and then there are the ones that are:

**Just plain rude**

While we have approved most of these comments if for no other reason than to illustrate the point, we are quickly realizing this is a toxic waste of our time which we would far prefer to spend on constructive community building and dialog.

Therefore, we now have a comment policy–be respectful, on topic and be constructive.  Yup, it’s that simple.  If you absolutely must mansplain and feminist bash, please take it elsewhere, we will no longer publish those comments.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Kathy permalink
    October 30, 2011 5:00 am

    Thank you for refusing to tolerate feminist bashing and “mansplaining”.

    Anti-feminism is just one more form of misogyny and we do not have to put up with it.

  2. Carolyn Dixon permalink
    October 30, 2011 5:41 am

    I’m in SE Alaska and it’s blowing about 35 mph and I just lost my internet connection and the comment I was writing in response to LMarshall’s comment, so this time I think I’ll post it a paragraph at a time.

    “Divisive”,”class warfare”, “special interests”, and even “selfish” are labels used to shut people up, to manipulate them into serving someone else’s interests and disregarding their own. During the Civil Rights struggle, Black women were told to put aside issues of sexism and work for the empowerment of Black men; white men, asked about the position of women in Students for a Democratic Society. said that the only position for a woman in SDS was prone.

    • Lola-at-Large permalink
      October 30, 2011 10:13 pm

      Not trying to pick a fight, I just think it’s important to report history accurately. It was the SNCC, not the SDS, and the quote is attributed to Stokely Carmichael who was not white.

      Otherwise, your observations about history repeating itself are spot on. I, too, have worried that women will get pushed aside, even though economic injustice effects us most. It would seem to me that ending patriarchy would have the desired effect.

      • Carolyn Dixon permalink
        October 31, 2011 10:11 am

        I was wrong about the man and wrong about the organization. Sorry. I should have gone to a fact check site, but I was afraid my message would get lost again if I did. Thanks for the correction.

  3. Carolyn Dixon permalink
    October 30, 2011 6:02 am

    Great, my comment got through.

    I’ve been concerned about the place of women in OWS since I began to notice that the few women seen in media coverage were more often shown as eye candy than as spokespersons. I was very happy to learn of the GA principles of progressive stacking and step-up step-back and that a caucus had been formed for people of color.

    But I was distressed to see a video interviewing 9 occupiers, 5 white males, 2 men of color and 2 women, neither of whom were people of color. I know that OWS cannot control what is shown in the media, but I would like to suggest to the GA that the principle of step-up step-back be applied to media contact. I would like to see women move out of their comfort zone, and encourage other women to do so as well, to show women (as well as members of other often-marginalized groups) acting as leaders and spokespersons.

  4. Carolyn Dixon permalink
    October 30, 2011 6:23 am

    I believe that OWS and the 99% movement is the most important thing that I’ve seen in our country in my lifetime. I believe that the purpose of OWS is to set a standard of ethics and of inclusiveness and of love that is the essence of democracy and that our practice of democracy has never yet achieved. I believe that the mission of OWS is to create, in the GA and all its structure of caucuses and work groups and shared responsibilities, a model of how democracy can function and to hold that space while the rest of us learn how to make it happen. I’m so glad for the privilege of being one of you.

  5. Carolyn Dixon permalink
    October 30, 2011 6:28 am

    By the way, fellow occupypatriarchy members, I find it ironic and yet heartwarming that, if I am not mistaken, a man started this group.

  6. kmiriam permalink
    October 30, 2011 3:36 pm

    You are very mistaken, Carolyn. where did you get this idea??

    • Carolyn Dixon permalink
      October 31, 2011 10:05 am

      Are you talking about my saying that Occupy Patriarchy was started by a man? If so, yes, I was mistaken. I did see a post that WOW was started by someone named Dan.

  7. October 30, 2011 10:39 pm

    a man started this group.

    WHAA? WTF?

  8. Elaine Charkowski permalink
    October 31, 2011 1:53 am

    Nothing will EVER change until ALL the world’s women have economic and reproductive rights. No more “house arrest” for women and their children who cant afford to move out and get their own place to get away from an abusive man.

    Nothing will EVER change until ALL women can walk anywhere they want , day or night, without the threat of men raping or battering them.

    Nothing will EVER change until ALL women have autonomy as free human beings, living their lives as they see fit without men telling them how to live their lives.

  9. October 31, 2011 6:13 am

    Occupy Patriarchy is a great idea. Been called a man hater and other nasty things just confirms that you are doing a good job. Instead of been annoyed and insulted by these comments take them as a complement. It’s what I do when I receive them.
    And I agree you should not publish them. A feminist site should not be a place where the oppressor has an opportunity to insult the oppressed.

Leave a Reply

